Canada Adds 13 Countries To Qualify For eTA With A Condition

Canada Adds 13 Countries To Qualify For eTA With A Condition

The Canadian Minister of Immigration announced today that the country has added 13 countries to the electronic travel authorization (eTA) program. However, there are conditions to consider.

Canada Adds 13 Countries To The eTA

On June 6, 2023, Sean Fraser, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, announced the addition of 13 countries to the eTA program. Travelers from select countries who have either held a Canadian visa in the last 10 years or who currently hold a valid United States non-immigrant visa can now apply for an eTA instead of a visa when traveling to Canada by air. Effective today, here is the list of eligible countries that can benefit from the program:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

The news about the eTA is especially hot in Thailand and the Philippines as the requirements and visa process for citizens of developing countries are quite tough. They need to show proof of income, work and many more for a visa to be granted.

So this announcement can give some space for these citizens to prevent the hassle of visiting the embassy with all the documents.

But if you are citizens of the above-listed countries, keep in mind that you must have a valid US non-immigrant visa or a Canadian visa that was issued in the past 10 years.


Canada has added 13 countries to its eTA list and it is good news for those who are citizens of developing countries as they do not have to visit the embassy. Instead, applying for electronic travel authorization can be easily applied from the Internet.

However, the catch is that you must possess a valid US non-immigrant visa or must have had Canadian visa issued in the last 10 years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

A note to our visitors

This website has updated its privacy policy in compliance with changes to European Union data protection law, for all members globally. We’ve also updated our Privacy Policy to give you more information about your rights and responsibilities with respect to your privacy and personal information. Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.